Georgia State Laws and IID Requirements
In Georgia, DUI offenders face a variety of penalties. The legal blood alcohol content limit for drunk driving in the state is .08 percent. Drivers found to be at or above that limit face administrative and financial penalties, including license suspension. Some offenders may be able to obtain limited driving privileges if they agree to install an ignition interlock device (IID).
What are the Penalties for a DUI in Georgia?
- $210 fee to reinstate license
- Fines of $300 to $1,000
- Up to one year in jail
- Possible requirement to attend DUI school
- Minimum of 40 hours of community service
- 12 months license suspension
- May need to get an interlock device to regain driver’s license
Second Offense (within 5 years of first offense)
- 90 days to one year in jail, with a 48 minimum
- Fines of $600 to $1,000
- Minimum of 30 days of community service
- $210 fee to reinstate license
- Three year license suspension
- Required to be evaluated at a clinic, and may be required to attend treatment
- May need to install ignition interlock to regain license
Third Offense (within 5 years of second offense)
- Minimum of 15 days in jail
- 30 days of community service, minimum
- License revoked for five years
- Fines of $1,000 to $5,000
- Name, address, and photo of offender is published in newspaper, and offender must pay for the placement
- Offender is now considered a habitual violator, and their vehicle’s license plate is seized and sent to the Department of Motor Vehicle Safety
- Offender must be evaluated and might be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program
- May need to install an ignition interlock device
What Happens if I Fail to Complete or Refuse to Submit to a DUI Test in Georgia?
This is not the way to avoid consequences, because even without a test there are still penalties that apply. If the offender refuses a test, even after implied consent notice is given, this can be held against them in court. Additionally, the driver’s license of the suspected offender will be revoked for one year, with no possibility of getting a limited driving permit.
Get a Free Quote! Call 888-786-7384
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
How Can I Regain Driving Privileges in Georgia?
For offenders who have had their license suspended, there is hope. Georgia allows qualified offenders to regain driving privileges with a restricted driver’s license, also referred to as a limited driving permit. The limited license allows offenders to drive to school, work, medical appointments, community service, grocery shopping, and other necessary tasks. Offenders must meet all criteria to be able to get back on the road. Criteria include:
- Must finish the suspension period that the court mandated (which can go up to two years for repeat offenders)
- All fines must be paid
- Must attend DUI school
- Must undergo a clinical assessment and comply with any mandated treatment programs, and provide a certificate of proof
- Install an ignition interlock device and show proof of installation/installation certificate
- Submit application and license fee to appropriate authorities
- Obtain SR-22 insurance and show proof of coverage
Other criteria may be required, depending on the driver’s record and the circumstances of the offense.
ADS Interlock Devices in GA
ADS devices include bilingual prompts, and are approved in Georgia. This means they meet state criteria and can be used to fulfill the interlock requirement for a limited license. ADS has many locations throughout the state.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Ignition interlock devices, or car breathalyzers, are installed to prevent drunk driving.
- The driver must take a Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) test before they can start the car. If they fail they won’t be able to start it.
- The device also requests random retests during most trips, to ensure continuous sobriety
How Long is an GA Interlock Device Required?
This is typically determined by statute, though there may be additional time added depending on the circumstances of the offense.
The Cost of Interlock Devices in GA
In Georgia, offenders are responsible for paying for the cost of installing and leasing their device. The devices are leased from an approved provider like ADS. Typically installation is between $70 and $100 and the lease costs between $2.50 and $3.50 per day. ADS has flexible payment options and allows customers to pay online or via app.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.