Arizona State Laws and IID Requirements
Arizona interprets driving under the influence (DUI) as driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. A standard DUI is considered as driving a vehicle with a BAC of .08 percent, or .04 percent for drivers of commercial offenders. The legal limit for those under 21 is 0 percent. Arizona requires all DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device in order to regain their driving privileges, and license reinstatement is used to establish the time frame for the IID requirement.
What are the Penalties for DUI in Arizona?
First DUI Offense
- 24 hours to 10 days in jail
- Up to $250 in fines
- License suspended for 90 days to one year - a 30-day temporary driving permit is issued in place of the suspended license
- Offenders can request a SIIRDL (Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License) if they meet criteria and request one in lieu of suspension, but they must be approved to obtain it.
- Must install an IID to regain driving privileges via a SIIRDL
- If the request for the SIIRDL is granted before sentencing, the offender gets credit for the time they’ve had their interlock installed. This time will count toward sentencing requirements.
Second DUI Offense
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Up to $500 fine
- License suspended for one year
- Must install IID to regain driving privileges, and may need to keep it beyond the suspension period
Third DUI Offense
- Up to four months in jail
- Up to $750 in fines
- License suspended for one year
- May be able to regain driving privileges with an IID
Get a Free Quote! Call 888-786-7384
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
Offenders cannot bypass consequences if they refuse the test. Anyone who refuses to complete a test risks a license suspension of up to two years, depending on if you have past Arizona DUI offenses.
How Do I Regain Driving Privileges in Arizona?
Some offenders may be eligible for a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License (SIIRDL). This restricted license is designed to help drivers regain their driving privileges.
The changes on January 1, 2023 mean some changes in how DUI offenders regain driving privileges. First-time offenders can now request a SIIRDL in lieu of suspension. This means they can install a state-approved IID and meet other criteria to obtain a SIIRDL. To qualify for a SIIRDL, offenders need to meet the following criteria:
- No one was killed or injured during their DUI incident
- No prior DUI or related convictions for past 9 years
- If SIIRDL is granted, offender waives right to contest suspension via hearing
- Offender must complete any drug or alcohol screening ordered by the court
- Driver must install an ignition interlock device approved by the state to get a SIIRDL
- Offender should have met all other related criteria including fines, community service, completing court mandates, and pay license or application fees.
A SIIRDL is only an option for first-time offenders. Repeat offenders may be eligible for a Restricted License. This is similar to a SIIRDL but limits where they can drive to approved locations like school, work, medical appointments and other necessary spots.
To get a Restricted License, offenders must meet the following criteria:
- Wait 30 days of the mandated suspension period
- Contact the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) online or by phone to confirm eligibility
- Install a certified Arizona IID and provide verification of installation to the MVD
- Comply with any required mandatory alcohol treatment programs and submit proof of completion to the MVD
- Submit an SR-22 Certificate of Automobile Liability insurance
- Pay any applicable fees (no personal checks)
Depending on circumstances of the offense, some offenders may not be eligible to regain driving privileges.
ADS Interlock Devices in Arizona
ADS is an approved provider in Arizona and meets all the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department criteria. Arizona approves the ADS Determinator II, a small, lightweight device that can be mounted discreetly. ADS has a large partner network with more installation locations than other ignition interlock device providers.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Ignition interlock, devices, or IIDs, are portable breathalyzers installed inside your vehicle that:
- Won’t allow drivers to start the vehicle with alcohol in their system
- Requests random retests of your Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) while you’re driving to prevent device tampering and drunk driving.
How Long is a AZ Interlock Device Required?
This is determined by statute, but the length of time the device is required can increase depending on a variety of factors, including the circumstances of the offense.
The Cost of Interlock Devices in Arizona
Offenders cover the cost of their device, which is rented as opposed to purchased outright. An approved provider will install the device, and then offenders will pay the monthly rental cost.
How Much Does an IAZ Cost?
In general the cost of the device is between $2.50 and $3.50 a day.
Ignition Interlock Devices in Arizona
Arizona approves ADS as an IID provider, specifically the Determinator II IID device. The Determinator II has simple, bilingual voice commands, an easy-to-read digital display and convenient calibration date reminders.
Finding an Ignition Interlock Device Installer Near Me Arizona
There are many ADS locations in Arizona, thanks to our large partner network of more than 5,000 locations. To get started, an ADS state specialist can help you find one near you and make your installation appointment
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.