Missouri State Laws and IID Requirements
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense in Missouri. Offenders face many possible penalties including fines, license suspension, and even possible jail time. Some offenders can regain driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device. This guide will cover the interlock policy in the state and how it works.
Get a Free Quote! Call 888-786-7384
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
What Happens if I Refuse or Fail to Complete a Test in Missouri?
There are still penalties for offenders who refuse a breathalyzer or blood alcohol content test. They risk having their license suspended for one year for first offenders, and this may increase for repeat refusals.
Regaining Driving Privileges in Missouri
Offenders in Missouri can regain privileges via a Restricted Driving Privilege or a Limited Driving Privilege.
How Do I Obtain a Restricted Driving Privilege in Missouri?
The RDP, or restricted driving privilege, option is only available for first-time offenders. To qualify, they may need to meet a variety of criteria, including:
- Submit a completed request for an immediate 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege form, within 15 days of receiving notice that their driving privileges will be suspended or revoked
- Install an interlock device from an approved provider and show proof of installation
- Obtain appropriate insurance coverage and show proof
- Complete any other requirements set by the court, if applicable
How Can I Obtain a Limited Driving Privilege in Missouri?
Unlike the RDP, the Limited Driving Privilege is available to repeat offenders. Sometimes, this is referred to as a hardship license. Commercial driver’s license holders must drop down to a regular license, as there is not an option for a limited CDL. To qualify, offenders should petition the court or submit an application to the Department of Revenue. They may also need to complete other criteria, including:
- Complete the LDP form
- Must not have a prior felony conviction involving a motor vehicle within the past five years
- Obtain appropriate insurance coverage and provide proof with an SR-22 certificate
- May need to serve a portion of the suspension period
- If this is not the first offense or their driver’s license is revoked, offenders need to show proof of IID installation by an approved provider
- Maintain the interlock during the entire time they hold their LDP
- Pay the filing fee and court costs for the petition
- Pay any other legal fees required
- Submit an SR-22 certificate of insurance coverage
- If there is more than one alcohol-related offense or a refusal on the driver’s record, they will have to provide proof that an ignition interlock device has been installed in any vehicle the offender operates
If their petition is approved, the offender will receive an Order Granting Limited Driving Privilege.
ADS MO Interlock Devices
In some situations, the state requires an IID equipped with a camera. ADS provides both non-camera and camera interlock devices and can help fulfill this requirement. It should be made clear by the court which device is required. ADS devices are easy-to-use and feature bilingual prompts.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An ignition interlock device is wired into your vehicle’s ignition interlock device and helps prevent drunk driving. When installed, the device requires the driver to take a Breath Alcohol Concentration (BrAC) test and pass in order to start the car. The devices also ensure the driver remains sober by requiring random retests during most trips. This prevents device tampering and ensures the driver is sober throughout the trip. An ignition interlock device MO, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
How Long is an IID Required in MO?
The length of the interlock term is determined by the statute. The court can require it for longer than initially planned, but typically it must be used during the entire limited driving privilege period.
Ignition Interlock Cost in Missouri
Missouri requires offenders to cover the cost of their IIDs. The devices are leased, and typically cost about $2.50 to $3.50 per day.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.